Fordson Engine Re-build

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
thestig246
True Blue

Fordson Engine Re-build

Post by thestig246 »

Hi everyone i am new to this forum and come to check it out!

i have a fordson major that im rebuilding i started taking it apart 5 years ago and never got around to it since!! :(

i am a complete ammuture and have no trainning on engines or nothing im 22 and self taught, i recently mannaged to rebuild a 13hp lawnmower engine, which i use for raceing and after copying another engine i had managed to get it together and running like a dream!

so i am wanting to get this engine rebuilt on the tractor, but really dont know where to start!

as it stands it is just the block with liners, and i put new pisten rings on thats as far as i got!!!
i have a fordson major manual which seems to have most of it in but its not the easyest to follow when your not a mechanic lol

any advice or help would be greatly appreicated as i would love todo this project myself, as if you dont try these things you never learn :)

dan
"oNe LiFe LiVe It"!!!

henk
Site Governance Team & Expert Team
Site Governance Team & Expert Team

Re: Fordson Engine Re-build

Post by henk »

Dan,

Welcome. As you say if you never do,you never learn. That's the spririt.
We will try to help you as much as we can do.
Kind regards, Henk

Fordson New Major February 1957 Mark I

AdrianNPMajor
True Blue

Post by AdrianNPMajor »

Hi Dan

First of all, do you think you have all the parts? Were they laid out methodically when the engine was dismantled?

What year is your Major? The engines are basically the same but modifications were introduced along the way, so knowing the year of your tractor would be helpful.

Can you supply any photos of what you have done so far?

Adrian

Kim
True Blue

Post by Kim »