Servicing of Dexta 957E.

This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
niffnoff
Not Quite Blue Yet

Servicing of Dexta 957E.

Post by niffnoff »

Help! I volunteered to cut the grass at my local cricket club, at the beginning of the 2009 season, using a Dexta 957E towing a Ransome triple gang mower.
Now the season is over I would like some advice on what I need to do to keep her running. I am a complete novice as regards the servicing of tractors, only capable of checking oil and water.
I have recently joined your forum and spend hours reading through and trying to digest all what is written.
I would be grateful for any tips and advice given. Niffnoff

Brian
Grumpy
Grumpy

Post by Brian »

Welcome to the board.

You will not be doing a great number of hours in a year so you will only need to change the engine oil once a year. Perhaps at the start of the season, it would be your choice. The oil to use would be a straight 30W diesel engine oil if possible, otherwise a 15/40W. Both oils will be OK for gearbox and rear axle.

You will need a 50/50 antifreeze/water mix. Do not rely on draining the system as water hangs up in areas and will crack the block.

Fill the fuel tank to the brim over winter, this will keep out condensation. Strangely it is not a fire hazard, I have seen many fire damaged combine harvesters with the only undamaged part with the paint still on it would be the full fuel tank.

Change the fuel filter.

Check all the oil levels in transmission and rear axle. The handbook will show you where the check plugs are. The handbook is free to download/check on this site.

Keep the battery fully charged and start her up once a month and, if possible, give her a run around.

Depending where you are in Norfolk, I can highly recommend Malcolm Hipperson at Downham Market for all spare parts both new and second hand.

If you run into any problems, ask on here and remember, I live right in the centre of the county.