Weak Hydraulics - Super Dexta

This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
npaulz
Not Quite Blue Yet

Weak Hydraulics - Super Dexta

Post by npaulz »

Hi all. Another colonial newbie!

Ongoing hydraulics problem. These were not working at all when I got my Dexta. The initial problem was a sticky control valve that I've freed and this at least gave me a usable (just) tpl. Problem was that I've put up with last 5cm action on the control lever until a few days ago when I finally decided to do the adjustments. I wish I'd read the forum more thoroughly because after adjusting and reassembling and it still not being quite right I found the info about the position control arm pin. So... off came the lid again last night. And, yes, mine is worn half way through. Now, to my questions while it's in this state. By the way, I'm no real mechanic but will give things a go.

1. After doing the adjustment, the hydraulics seem to be very weak. I have a set of forks on the tpl and while it lifts these and a pallet OK, it fails to lift with any real load. If I have it fully up and stand on the pallet and jump, I can drive the tpl down just with my extra weight. I can't really see why this would change by just doing the adjustment. Any thoughts? I will remove the main cylinder and check the seal.

2. I have two leaks. One is between the flow control valve housing and main cover - hopefully just O rings. The other seems to be between the flow control housing and the restrictor control lever. This one worries me more as I recall reading a while back of care needed in this area and just wanted some advice before I break something while trying to fix it.

3. Where the piston rod connects to the ram lift arm, the pin is a snug fit in the lift arm but loose in the rod (maybe 1-1.5mm smaller than hole). Is this normal or a problem.

Thanks in advance for any advice and thanks to the community for such useful info both here and on Stefan's site.

Brian
Grumpy
Grumpy