Dexta Hydraulic nightmare

This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
ted dexta
Not Quite Blue Yet

Dexta Hydraulic nightmare

Post by ted dexta »

Hi All, I'm a newbie with a problem.
As the man with spanners and a lathe in the garage a "mate" has asked me to sort out his lift mechanism after he had let a couple of gorillas loose on it. Problem started with a failed draft control link (corroded at attachment to control spring plunger). They, in their wisdom, obtained a replacement which was altogether bigger, larger yolk, larger diameter rod, slightly longer spring and with a snap ring fitting at the end. After they fitted it the lift, not surprisingly, lifted and then refused to budge. Said gorillas then exited stage left and haven't been seen since.
When I got on the scene the draft control link was jammed out of line with the control link adjusted to its shortest possible and the draft control swivel pin badly bent.
Mate and I are new to tractors and have been unable to source a replacement threaded ended draft control link.
I set to to try and work with what I had and, to cut a long story short, I have made a new draft control swivel, taken .150" off base of yolk casting where rod is welded in and shaved .060" off shoulder of swivel bush and shortened spring by .250", all with a view to shift valve control lever away from valve. It still does not seem to be enough because although I can get Qualitrol adjusted I am struggling to get position control adjusted as valve control lever still want to sit closer to control valve than seems correct. Fingers crossed we have yet to fit it to the tractor to see what happens.
My questions are as follows:
1) Can anyone explain what can or cannot be used to replace a 1960 Dexta draft control link ( we still have the original spring but it does not go over new rod)?
2)Can anyone help with sources of replacement parts new or second hand?