Hello and a few queries

This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
Sam dexta
Not Quite Blue Yet

Hello and a few queries

Post by Sam dexta »

Hi all,
I'm new on here. We are in east anglia. I have a super dexta which I'm still learning about.
There's a few things I'd like to know if anyone is able to provide pointers;
- using a flail mower, firstly it looks like really i should have a ratchet clutch in line, but there's a few sizes (and adapters) about. am I measuring the outer diameter? Not got another to compare to.
- engaging PTO was fine the first time, and since then it won't go in (grinding / lack of clutch action?). there is a second hole I'll move pedal link to, and a fair bit of play here and there, but I'm interested if this may be indicative of other issues before i just go ahead and tinker about.
- PTO goes into drive with engine off, then starts up fine on starter. Once it hits moderate loading the PTO is thinking about pushing itself out of drive. Adjustment or issue? If I dip the clutch, forward motion stops, PTO does not. This is live drive with clutch pedal set to "non PTO use hole" isn't it? no badge on the front, but 2 holes on clutch rod; I'll be moving it but would like to confirm I am unlikely to be causing damage.
- gearbox selector wore down and was inop, so i took it out and welded size back on works fine now. but it looks like top plate was not sealed; plenty of moisture in gearbox. What oil and how much should I be putting in (it also serves rear axle and hydraulics?) I have old lorries and am wary of using ep80/90 as it reacts badly with phospur-bronze synchromeshes as found on older gearboxes. I am guessing there's no synchros in a dexta but maybe other parts that require other oils? Is it a standard hydraulic oil as i'd put in the digger?