Major throttle linkage

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
INDIANAMARK
Not Quite Blue Yet

Major throttle linkage

Post by INDIANAMARK »

I have a Fordson Major Diesel where the throttle linkage has a rod that runs through the engine block. The rod does not rotate freely and seems to be broken, as the injection pump end doesn't appear to rotate when the manifold side end is rotated. What retains the rod in the engine block? I can't get the rod out. How can I get the rod out?

Does the rod perform any other function than connecting the throttle linkage? I can't get the tractor to start, and my father in law thinks the rod performs some other necessary function.

Mark
INDIANA MARK

Kiwi Kev
Site Governance Team & Expert Team
Site Governance Team & Expert Team

Post by Kiwi Kev »

Indianamark
Welcome to the board.
I'm not an expert on the Mark 1 engines, but to the best of my knowledge, it is only a throttle linkage, but what retains it in the block I'm not sure.
I'm sure it won't take too long for one of the "Brian/Brains trust" :clap: to help you out.
Kiwi Kev

Emiel
True Blue

Post by Emiel »

Hi,

The rod has no injector pump end.

Usually is your throttle control on the right hand side from the block to the rod, goes through the block and then upstairs to the butterfly valve.

The pump is controlled through the vacuum lines.

Best regards

Emiel
Best regards

Emiel

N 1937, E27N 1948, 8N 1949, E27N 1950, E1A Diesel 1953, E1ADKN PP 1956, Dexta 1959, NH Clayson M103 1964

Brian
Grumpy
Grumpy

Post by Brian »

Mark,

Emiel is right, there is no connection between the rod and the pump. Throttle control to the pump is done by the tubes that run from the inlet manifold to the governor housing on the end of the pump.

If your tractor will not start you need to check a couple of things before getting to the pump.