Introduction and some questions.

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
Robbie
Not Quite Blue Yet

Introduction and some questions.

Post by Robbie »

Hi,

I am Rob and live in Holland with my girlfriend and our daughter of 3,5 jears old. We have some horses, dogs, cats and uhhh... sort of rats? (cavia) and in the stables I sometimes spot a mouse. Recently I bought a tractor that has the front of a super major but I guess it has some "home made" fenders. It needs some work to get it running because the previous owner started to install a new starter switch but did not finish this job. I have been working as an electrician for 15 years and later on I I did the instrumentation for a oil company, at the moment I work as a DCS engineer for the same company.

Alltough I dont have any knowledge about a diesel engine, I think I can solve the electrics with the diagrams. But there are two other things that need to be fixed and they are the starter engine (might be defect) and there is oil leaking from the gearbox. ( I think it is the gearbox) This is something I dont know how to fix because it seems to be a leaking gasket and to replace this, the rear wheels will be sepparated from the front and I dont see how I can prevent them from falling to the ground and at the same time make it possible to sepparate them to place a new gasket.

So the questions are, can this be done by a amature or should I take it to a shop?
The 3 point hidge is missing and what would it cost to buy, second hand or new
If the starter engine is unreparable, what would is cost to buy a new one.
I will post a image later on because I dont think I can upload one to this forum.

Any help would be appriciated,
Kind regards,
Rob.

Brian
Grumpy
Grumpy

Re: Introduction and some questions.

Post by Brian »

Hi Rob,

Welcome to the board.