Advice on buying new battery

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
AdrianNPMajor
True Blue

Advice on buying new battery

Post by AdrianNPMajor »

I need to replace my battery. I have very little knowledge of the subject so I'm not sure what to get. I'd be very grateful for any advice, including an explanation of cold cranking amps and amp hours, and any other factors that are relevant. Opinions on makes would also be useful.
Many thanks.
Best, Adrian. :thumbs:

jan
Not Quite Blue Yet

Re: Advice on buying new battery

Post by jan »

Hi Adrian

In my Super Six is a " Optima Red Top " very powerfull battery.
they have no problem to coldcrank a modern tractor with much bigger engine,and they are
little so no problem to fit in a fordson battery holder
L 26 cm
W 17 cm
H 24 cm
CCA 815 A (EN) CA 1000 A
here in germany i paid 150 Euro (not cheap,but good battery)

hope this info is helpfull

mbg Jan

Bensdexta
True Blue

Post by Bensdexta »

I got an E44 Varta Silver Car Battery 77Ah for my Dexta from Tayna Ltd. Cost £70 delivered.

You might want one a bit stronger for your Major. Tayna are v efficient &cheap. :wink:
Bensdexta - 1961 working for a living!

AdrianNPMajor
True Blue

Post by AdrianNPMajor »

Thanks for your help, Jan and Ben.
I'll give Tayna a ring.

Bensdexta
True Blue

Post by Bensdexta »

Bensdexta - 1961 working for a living!

county654
True Blue

Post by county654 »

My Majors all start real easy, so I allways use old batteries I take out of my working tractors.
Even the 590 E 6 Zylinder has no problem starting with an older battery. Replacement batteries for the working fleet are allways the "Optima Red Top" like Jan mentioned.
Regards Matthias

With County, you can ;-)

1959 Power Major
1961 County Super 4 drainagemachine
1963 Super Major
1964 NP Super Major 4x4
1966 County 654

AdrianNPMajor
True Blue

Post by AdrianNPMajor »