non genuine parts

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
ANDY T
Not Quite Blue Yet

non genuine parts

Post by ANDY T »

Hi there, just joined the forum I'm Andy and I live in Yorkshire. Having just bought a Super Major I'm changing colour from red MF/DB the tractor I've bought is all complete not a bad running engine just needs oil seals, tyres, paint and general tidying up. The worst part about it is front axle the steering arms have been whelded to the spindle/kingpin shaft. I've had some bad experiences with after market parts in the past. New spindle shafts seem to range from £50 to £100 are some better than others or are they all made in China? I can see me buying new shaft, new steering arm, new bearings and nothing fits together, to slack or too tight.Has anybody had any experience with these good or bad?
Cheers AndyT

Timeee
True Blue

Re: non genuine parts

Post by Timeee »

Dear Andy T

Parts from the "land of nearly right" that claim to fit a named tractor, sadly, fail to meet expectations. You tend to build up a list of suppliers who can provide parts of a decent quality and avoid those that always claim the "We have sold 84 of these and no-one has complained", when it is apparent to you that shaft "A" they have just sent you, will not fit into the hole that it should do on your tractor.
I have found Emmark UK Ltd, Pudsey, Leeds, to be pretty good in terms of quality and customer service. They don't "do" everything for a Major, but the bits that they do are mainly excellent. I have found their replacement steering spindles and spindle repair kits to be fine. I don't know whether they do the steering arms.

Regards

Tim E

henk
Site Governance Team & Expert Team

Post by henk »

I bought my king pins years ago from Old20. Still steering with them.
Kind regards, Henk

Fordson New Major February 1957 Mark I

peter2
True Blue

Post by peter2 »

Hi,