Super Major Pump Timing

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
skateboss
True Blue

Super Major Pump Timing

Post by skateboss »

Hi everyone, I got my starter back today (Diesel Electro in Norwich) done an awesome job on it, ended up costing £100 but well worth it as she turns over really well now but i think that i might have the pump timing wrong as im getting a bit of white smoke but it's not firing.

I looked through the manual to set it up but im not sure whether valve 1 was coming up on compression stroke when i set it.

should valve 1 be closed?
What is the correct way to set this?
Can the pump be out of time with the timing marks on the pump lining up? i.e. even though those marks line up can the pump be out of time by 360 degrees or something?

sorry for stupid questions but i have never done this before.
P.s. Its a simms pump with the diaphragm in.
Regards Chris
Stay True Keep Blue!

JC
Site Governance Team & Expert Team

Post by JC »

Chris,
If someone has had the injector pump off, they could have put the coupler together 180 deg. off. When the timing marks are lined up on the pump and coupler, the bolt that holds the front half of the coupler on the shaft should be under the shaft. If its on the top, its wrong.
When you are on the compression stroke on no.1 cylinder, both valves will be closed (up). You will be able to move the rocker arms a little on both valves. If you are on the exhaust stroke, the front valve will be down and you will not be able to move the rocker arm.

Don't worry about asking "stupid" questions. The only stupid question is the one you don't ask.

skateboss
True Blue

Post by skateboss »

Thanks for he reply, i have checked the timing again the way that you said and im still getting a puff of white smoke on every revolution but not starting..

I am correct in thinking that it is 23 degrees for super major arnt i?
it hasnt had the coupling removed from the pump.