Fordson Major - recent engine rebuild

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
Rijono
Not Quite Blue Yet

Fordson Major - recent engine rebuild

Post by Rijono »

Hi all,
This is my first post. I bought a 1953 Fordson Major Diesel around 5 years ago and didn't really know what I was buying (although I am a motor vehicle mechanic by trade) but bought it from a photo sent to me on my mobile phone.
I have been slowly restoring it ever since and have managed to replace many parts such as the brakes, cables, PTO seals, water pump, etc and repair other items such as the hydraulic control unit and the wings, etc. The biggest challenge though started when the engine overheated and upon investigation (followed a jet of steam) a crack in the engine block was discovered on the front left hand corner (very common I later found out). When I investigated and assessed the issue further I found that the crack had been backfilled at some time previously with car body filler. Once I had removed all of the filler I found (to my horror) that some previous owner had ran an angle grinder blade through the crack and into right through the block into the water jacket! I though it was curtains for the block and reading other forums, it normally is. However I managed to prep the wound to the block and (taking into consideration other repair methods) manufactured a 3mm steel plate from a cardboard template and managed to drill and tap the block and secure the plate with M6 high tensile bolts cut to length. Between the plate and the block I sandwiched a layer of Belzona 1111 to seal to repair and used EB25 high temp/chem resistant sealer on the inside. This is now a permanent repair.