Engine block inaccuracies normal

This forum is for the Fordson New Major, including the Super Major and the Power Major.
1962 model
True Blue

Engine block inaccuracies normal

Post by 1962 model »

Hi all,
I have decided I should inform readers of issues relating to the inaccuracy of engine blocks and additional things that further distort an engine block.
First, I will declare that I come from both sides of the fence I have General Motors and Ford products back to the 1920's and will quote as required with no favoritism, ( hopefully )
I am also a Machinist by trade and have worked on engines since the 1970's

People in general seem to think that once an engine block is cast and assembled that everything is set in stone, I am here to tell you that this is most definitely is not the case. Yes cast Iron is a fairly ridged metal with some good points, however it can, and does move during use.

To put things into perspective the engine bearing clearances are generally between .0025 and .0055 ( imperial taken to the 4th decimal place ) with a piece of photocopy paper at .0040 and a piece of aluminum foil from the kitchen being .0005 ( 1/2 a thou )

With engine bearings there is always a crush on the bearing shells, and this needs to be maintained to keep bearing shells tight to prevent movement which is often evident in Majors, Dexta's and Thames trader 6cyl engines by the grey polish marks in the bearing block bores from rubbing.

The main bearing caps always stretch, this occurs for several reasons.
1 the bearing shell crush pressure,
2 working load and
3 settling cast iron.

Now this stretch is often as little as .001 which does not sound like much, however this combined with insufficient bearing crush and the multiplied effect through the circumference can result in close to .003 ( 3 thou ) clearance, so if remedial action is not taken to take the bearing back to the minimum bearing clearance, it will not give a proper engine life and fail prematurely.