Rod and Main Bearing Surfaces

This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
ddoan
True Blue

Rod and Main Bearing Surfaces

Post by ddoan »

Well, I'm really into it, now.

Initially, I wasn't going to rebuild my Dexta's motor, but decided that since I had a complete seal and gasket kit, I might as well bite the bullet and go for it.

Since I am not a mechanic by trade, I was troubled by what appeared to be "rusty" rod bearing surfaces. I contacted a mechanic friend of mine, and he mentioned that often softer metals (tin/copper) are used on bearing surfaces so that the bearing wears, but the crankshaft doesn't. Here's a photo of a main bearing (silver color), and a rod bearing (copper color):

In showing this photo to some of my Ford N-Tractor friends, a comment was made to the effect that the "babbit" (a silver colored material) had worn off the rod bearings, exposing the copper - and that's not good.

So, the question is, were Dexta rod bearings manufactured with copper-colored linings? Should mine be replaced?

Here is a shot of my crankshaft:

It really looks good to me, but at this point, I'm second-guessing myself quite a lot.

Don

pjjms
True Blue

Post by pjjms »

Your Ford N friends are correct in that the babbitt has worn off. The bearing shells will need replacing. Check the back of the shells for any size markings. If the crank has already been ground the number of thou undersize will be marked on the back.

For the crank there are a couple of things that need to be checked. The journals need to be round, not worn oval, and in good condition. You will need a micrometer to check this. I suggest you have it checked by your local engine shop.

I would think that the oil pressure would have been very poor at hot idle with the bearings in that condition.

russelm
True Blue

Post by russelm »

Yep, the soft metal has worn off the bearings.