Super Dexta clutch adjustment

This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
chrism0dwk
Not Quite Blue Yet

Super Dexta clutch adjustment

Post by chrism0dwk »

Hi All,

I've just bought a 1963 Super Dexta as a project, and a tractor to look after a small-holding here in NZ -- my British ex-pat credentials couldn't resist something made in Dagenham! I'm new to tractors, let alone Dextas, so please bear with me.

I am currently trying to adjust the clutch, as per the repair/service manual supplied online by Fordsontractorpages.nl -- thanks! However, I have two issues. The first is that although the drive clutch appears to disengage halfway down the pedal travel, I still get a little jerk when I put the tractor into gear. Secondly, the PTO doesn't appear to disengage by the time the pedal hits the footplate (though I've not loaded the PTO yet to discover whether or not the clutch is partially disengaged).

On trying to adjust the clutch pedal, I noticed two things: the pedal has about 8" free travel in it, and at rest the clutch release arm screw head (which is screwed about 1" out of the release arm) is a good 1.5" away from the moulded bearing surface, ie the clutch release arm does not appear to be returning home properly. I initially supposed that the clutch release arm could be adjusted on the pivot shaft, but obviously it is splined on, suggesting that something in the clutch is not adjusted correctly.

Can anybody shed light as to the possible cause of this? It is more likely to be wear, or just maladjustment of the clutch plates? I'm aware that the previous owner had reportedly replaced the clutch, so I'm wondering if it wasn't done quite right.

Many thanks,

Chris

Bensdexta
True Blue

Re: Super Dexta clutch adjustment

Post by Bensdexta »

Is it Live Drive, ie double clutch?
Bensdexta - 1961 working for a living!

chrism0dwk
Not Quite Blue Yet

Post by chrism0dwk »

Hi,