This forum is about the Fordson Dexta, Super Dexta and Petrol Dexta.
Dexta1987
Not Quite Blue Yet

Post by Dexta1987 »

Hi all,

I'm brand new to this forum which reads like a great well of knowledge on all things Fordsons so I'm hoping to learn as much as I can.
I'm in Southern Ireland and I have a New Performance Super Dexta which I purchased over a year ago and have started doing so work to tidy it up.

My main issue is a heavy oil dripping from the rear of the engine so I suspected the crankshaft rope seal which I have since replaced and i'm confident I done properly i.e. soaking of seals for a few hours prior to fitting and clean trimming of the ends leaving 0.3 to 0.5mm of seal protruding above half housings. The seal went back together properly and was tight on the final squeezing of the long bolts.
I suspect the cork seal at the rear main bearing cap so I.m going to drop the sump and fit new gaskets and cork strips however I have no experience of cork strips.
I presume these sit into a slot in the main bearing caps or in the sump itself so do you use gasket sealer along the length of the strips on both sump and bearing caps?
I heard that cork strips should only be wiped with Vaseline and installed with no sealer?
I assume the paper gaskets go on first with some sealer and the cork strips come up to meet the paper gaskets?
Do you cut the cork flush with the sump or do you leave so much protruding like the rope seals, if so how much should I leave protruding?

Appreciate your help on this as its a lot of work so far to remove the front axle, take the weight of the engine from above and drop the sump so I want to try to get it right and hopefully I wont' be dripping onto the concrete anymore!

Dexta1987

Dexta J
Not Quite Blue Yet

Re: New Member

Post by Dexta J »