Ransomes Plough

This forum is about the tools you use to service your Fordson tractor AND about the implements you use when out in the field with Ol' Blue.
charlie63
True Blue

Ransomes Plough

Post by charlie63 »

Im new to ploughing and since my Dexta is nearly restored ive been looking at different ploughs for her to just have a bit of fun with and maybe the odd ploughing match.
There is a Ransomes TS54A , 2 furrow which is not too far from me been relisted on fleebay.
My question is should this plough be fitted with discs and skimmers as these are not on the plough. Also how important is it to have these fitted as I have seen ploughs with them and without them. Thanks for any advise.

Charlie.

blackbob
True Blue

Re: Ransomes Plough

Post by blackbob »

You mean this one perhaps? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ransomes-plou ... SwpuBZvsaR

The first thing to check is that it is category 1 pins - it's difficult to tell from here, and many Ransomes machines were designed for Majors [with bigger pins]

You can plough without skims - but you won't bury the surface vegetation properly, and the end result will look untidy. But to me, discs are optional, unless you're looking for a perfect finish!

Incidentally that looks like SCN or UCN bodies, and I think you should still be able to get points and shares for it, so I would say it would be a good choice - you could make other skims fit, not necessarily Ransomes either.
Last edited by blackbob on Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
1440276 - 1957 - working
1335674 - err - one day..
Claeys combine M103 - 1963 703129 - working
Ford 7710 2wd, 1983 - working

The Fordson Tractor Pages. Built to be relied on.

charlie63
True Blue

Post by charlie63 »

Bob,