Fit electrics to a trailer lighting board

Want to share something off-topic? This is where to put it.
taffdavies
True Blue

Fit electrics to a trailer lighting board

Post by taffdavies »

Help needed, due to police attention need to fit electrics to attach a trailer. For the past 50 years have had no problem travelling 250 yards to the beach. Now road legal lighting required or face confiscation of boat etc. I am NO electrician and need IDIOTS GUIDE to set up wiring..AGAIN PLEASE HELP!
Taffdavies (aka Gary)

peter2
True Blue

Re: Fit electrics to a trailer lighting board

Post by peter2 »

Hi Gary,

don't know where you are in the world, but e.g. for Germany (and Europe I think) there are ready made boards with light and cable at Ebay for 30-40 Euro. There are sets with two lights and cable, too. For this price you can't do it yourself. http://r.ebay.com/8pi7Ti
You only need a plug on the tractor as for a car trailer.

Peter
1963 Super Major

taffdavies
True Blue

Post by taffdavies »

Hy
I am trying to wire the tractor to accept a trailer board. In other words there is not a wire system on the tractor. I have the switch. Relays/flasher unit. fuses, and the female plug. Need diagram to match a switch with six terminals and the flasher units have two terminals. :oops:

super6954
True Blue

Post by super6954 »

Hi
From what I'm reading in your reply you might be trying to over complicate the system with relays. most old tractors had a switch for brake lights a switch or more for other lights a lot of fuses/suitable sized wire,. and a flasher unit. No relays. if this tractor gets wet you want it as simple as possible and the least amount of connections that can corrode :wink: .